Changes in Voter Registration Requirements
(as of November 2018)
The deadline to register to vote is no longer 30 days before an election. Under the new 2018 law, voters may register in person or by mail up to 15 days prior to an election. Voters may also register in person with their local clerk within 14 days of an election, up to and including Election Day.
If people who have never voted in Michigan register by mail or at a VR drive, they should a) accurately enter their state issued driver license number, personal ID card number, or SSN on the form. Complying with this requirement will allow them to vote an absentee ballot. If they do not have a MI driver’s license or a state-issued ID, they may send in a copy of a paycheck stub, utility bill, bank statement, or a government document that lists their name and address. If they do not have this information, an acceptable form of ID must be provided before they vote in the first election in which they wish to participate.
Any registered voter may vote an absentee ballot, without stating a reason for wishing to do so. Applications may be downloaded from www.mi.gov/vote or obtained from the local clerk’s office. Many VR drives will have copies of absentee ballot applications, but voters should submit the applications themselves, by mail or in person, to their local city or township clerk’s office.
In a general election, voters have the right to vote a straight party ticket or to vote for candidates across party lines. In a primary election, however, voters must choose candidates from only one party to select nominees for the general election.In Michigan you do not register with a party designation.