100th Anniversary of Women's Suffrage

Welcome to the Centennial Year of the 19th Amendment! 


The Suffrage Centennial Committee is Trudy Bower, Susan Chalgian, Margaret Cottrill, Dorothy Engelman, Kate O'Neill, Laura Smith, Margo Smith, and Debby Starnes. It's planning exciting opportunities to celebrate this special occasion and we hope you'll join in.


The League of Women Voters is a nonpartisan political organization

encouraging informed and active participation in government.

It influences public policy through education and advocacy.

Centennial Poster Contest


NOTE: Due to the closure of schools, the Poster Contest is being extended

until May 15, 2020.


Open to all students grades 7-12 in Clinton, Eaton, and Ingham counties.

Prizes: $250 - First Place $125 - Second Place $75 - Third Place

The winning poster will be printed and displayed in Clinton, Eaton, and Ingham counties

to encourage people to vote in November.

Theme:  "Celebrate 100 Years of Women's Suffrage...VOTE"


1. Must be nonpartisan

2. 12”x18" format - may be vertical or horizontal

3. Any media including digital

4. Must be original art and message

5. One poster per student

6. Do not sign the front of the poster

7. Complete the entry form and attach to the back of the poster 

        Entry Form

    Judges & Criteria

An independent panel of recognized representatives from the local art community; they are selected at the sole discretion of the LWVLA.

Posters will be judged on the strength of their message, graphic impact and representative of the theme.  Posters MUST BE NONPARTISAN. (Free from political bias.)

Please call Dorothy at 435.879.1558 if you have questions or would like more information about the contest. You may also email poster100years@gmail.com.


* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

  • The East Lansing Public Library and the Capital Area District Library (CADL) are putting together reading lists for books related to the struggle for suffrage. We hope to form an Evening Book Group to discuss some of these books...more to come. Here's a reading list for younger readers that you might enjoy sharing

  • We will be marching is several parades during the summer months and will publish the dates and locations shortly.  Plan on joining us at the Independence Day Parade in Lansing on July 4, 2020!  

  • For more information please contact: 


       Dorothy Engelman  or Laura Smith

Join the Lansng League of Women Voters
DONATE to the Lansing League o Women Voters
  • Facebook

Contact Us:

  League of Women Voters of Lansing Area

  P.O. Box 971

  E. Lansing, MI 48826

  Email:  email the League

Comments, suggestions, questions?   Contact our webmaster.


Privacy Policy: We do not use cookies, nor do we collect information about users. Any form data is used only to satisfy the purpose of that form (for example, send an email in response to a question).

Disclaimer: All links to other web sites are provided for your convenience only. The League of Women Voters of the Lansing Area exercises no control of the information or opinions contained on them. Provision of these links on our site does not indicate an endorsement of their contents by the LWV of the Lansing Area.

© 2019  League of Women Voters of  Lansing Area, Michigan. All rights reserved.