top of page

The League of Women Voters is a nonpartisan political organization encouraging the informed and active participation of citizens in government. It influences public policy through education and advocacy.

2024 Key Michigan Election Dates 

On Election Day, when the polls are open, voters can also obtain absentee ballots at their local clerk's office until polls close, but only if they are registering to vote or updating their voter registration address. Here is how to request an absentee ballot

Our election laws have changed. Here is an overview of the changes from LWVLA VP of Voter Services. 

Tuesday, May 7, 2024 - Local Elections

  • The following elections will be held: 

    • Selection Lansing Charter Review Commission members

    • School District Bond Proposals for:

      • City of East Lansing 

      • Holt Public Schools

      • Waverly Community Schools

    • Check with local clerks office for the most current election information:

  • Key Dates from the May Election Calendar

    • Monday, April 22, Last day to register online.

    • Sunday, April 28, Beginning of the early voting (optional for local governments)

    • Sunday, May 5, Last Day of early voting.

    • Tuesday, May 7, from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.: Election Day!

 

Tuesday, Aug. 6, 2024 - Michigan State Primary

  • Thursday, June 27: Absentee ballots must be made available.

  • Sunday, July 7: Communities may begin allowing early voting.

  • Saturday, July 27: Communities must begin allowing early voting.

  • Friday, Aug. 2, at 5 p.m.: Deadline to request an absentee ballot online or through the mail.

  • Sunday, Aug. 4: Last day of early voting.

  • Monday, Aug. 5 at 4 p.m.: Deadline to request an absentee ballot in person at a local clerk's office.

  • Tuesday, Aug. 6, from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.: Election Day!

 

Tuesday, Nov. 5, 2024 - General Election

  • Thursday, Sept. 26: Absentee ballots must be made available.

  • Sunday, Oct. 6: Communities may begin allowing early voting.

  • Saturday, Oct. 26: Communities must begin allowing early voting.

  • Friday, Nov. 1, at 5 p.m.: Deadline to request an absentee ballot online or through the mail.

  • Sunday, Nov. 3: Last day of early voting.

  • Monday, Nov. 4, at 4 p.m.: Deadline to request an absentee ballot in person at a local clerk's office.

  • Tuesday, Nov. 5, from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.: Election Day! 

LWVLA Calendar Summary

***

*

Monday, June 10th

LWVLA Board Meeting

6-8pm

 All members are welcome to attend, for more information contact Kathy Petroni

*

Thursday, June 20th

LWVLA Book Group

10:00am

Pastoral Song: A Farmer’s Journey by James Rebanks.  This is a story of how Rebanks returned his family farm to a balanced ecosystem.All members are welcome to attend, for more information contact Donna Mullins

bottom of page